What Has, What Has Not, and What Hopefully Will 2014-2015


OMG! Has it seriously been more than a year since the last time I wrote something here? God, I can’t believe it. I feel sorry for myself. I have no documentation whatsoever about what happened in 2014. 😦 And damn, a lot have happened. Well, I am not gonna write what happened in 2014 in this post. As usual, this post is a running tradition where I am gonna babble about my last year’s resolution and whether I managed to accomplish them or not. I know I know, I am late. So, let’s get to it people!

So, let’s list my last year’s resolutions:

  1. Publishing cool papers and going around the world.  I am so proud and grateful to say that I have achieved this. At the beginning of the year, my paper was accepted to IPCAI 2014 in Japan. Later in March/April, my paper was accepted to a very good conference, MICCAI 2014 which was in Boston. I had the chance to go to MIT and step on the land of the free for the first time. My job has made me travel all over the world: Austria, Italy, and France. It was a really good year for me. (FYI: I just got a good news this morning that my paper for IPCAI 2015 was accepted without the need for rebuttal. Man, I am so lucky! :D)
  2. Travel a lot more. and travel I did! The great thing about it is that most of the trips were covered by my lab. In addition to those “business/leisure” trips, I also went to Brugge and Ghent to see my undergrad friends, to Paris meeting my bimbz, and also to a bunch of cities in Germany during winter break. Again, 2014 was an awesome year!
  3. In touch with my right brain. Well, I should say this one was not successful. I just couldn’t find the time nor the motivation to work on this. I’d rather spend my time on youtube. lol
  4. Fourth language. Well, this is also a fail. I started catching bits and pieces of other languages, like Spanish or German. But, again just haven’t got around to it. Youtube sucks my whole life force.
  5. Generally be happy. Being happy has been a very hard thing to do. Despite all the awesomeness that happened in 2014, I can positively say that 2014 was also the lowest point of my life. I hit rock bottom, multiple times. When I thought nothing could get worse, it did. Well, I am still working on this department. However, I am very thankful to be around very great and supportive friends who have helped me through this. 🙂

Well, there you go! The resolution review. I wish I had done more last year, but I already did a lot. It felt like I never stopped working (which is of course not true). I guess I should manage my time better this year. I also should go back to writing stuff on this blog. God, it is so sad that I have nothing to look back to in this blog for 2014. Ah, there it is my first resolution for the year 2015, let’s get to it, then. 😀

  1. Go back to writing blog regularly. Seriously, it is sad that I have nothing in 2014. I am actually not sure whether it is a good idea or not that I stopped writing here because I needed to get used to writing things scientifically. And this blog is not the most scientific stuff on the internet. I was kinda afraid that writing this blog will impede (see, this is a scientific word) my scientific writing skills. In any case, I wanna go back to writing here regularly.
  2. Reading one book in French every month. My french is not improving as fast as I want it to. I remember that one of the things that helped my English was reading Harry Potter in English. So, now I am going to try to do the same in French. I will start reading novels in French. 😀
  3. Fourth language is still in my list. I really want to be able to speak Spanish now. It will be super useful since so many countries speak it. XD
  4. Get healthier. In 2014, I picked up swimming as one of my new hobbies and I really like it. There was one time when I was swimming almost 3-4 times a week. And I felt really great. I wanna go back to that. I want to be healthier, and superficially speaking to have a better body. 😀
  5. Get over my insecurities. One of the things that has been keeping me from being happy is my insecurities. I am not sure how, but I am willing to work on it. This is very abstract, I know. But I feel like I need to write this down to remind myself to get over them.

So, yea. That’s all, folks!

I just realized that I will be 25 this year, and pretty soon too. I have been on this earth for quarter a century. Wow, ain’t that something?

2 responses

  1. Went to Paris to meet your bimbzz!!! (Yes, I read the whole article but I only picked that one up)
    Come home soon bimbz.

  2. […] at the end of the year for the last few years. There you go, another post looking back at my resolutions and whether I have achieved them or not. So, let’s get to […]

Leave a Reply

me and universe

a life's drama

limaapril

05.04.2014

Hello!

♥ Nur's stories & stickynotes ♥

.:creativega:.

live your life

kazecul's realms

Two Thumbs Up!!! -Roeper & Ebert-

